The Elephant in the Living Room

Film #304

TItle: The Elephant in the Living Room (2010)

Starring: Tim Harrison, Terry Brumfield, and Russ Clear

Dir: Michael Webber

Basic Synopsis: Set against the backdrop of a heated national debate, director Michael Webber takes viewers deep inside the controversial subculture of raising the most dangerous animals in the world as common household pets.

My Mini Review:

Wow, there are some crazy people in this world. I am all for loving animals, but these people take that a tad too far by raising dangerous animals they have no business raising. Some states not even requiring any sort of permits – for things like lions and 300lb snakes – putting at risk Lord knows how many people, and not to mention the horrible treatment of these animals in makeshift habitats.

It flows well for a documentary, showcasing the people who own these exotic pets and even going undercover to show the massive expo sales of such “pets” to anyone who wishes to purchase them. Very interesting, though heartbreaking, and very informative – I always knew there were folks that kept animals they shouldn’t, but I never knew the magnitude of the issue and how many cases there actually were. Crazy. 

Overall Rating: 3/5

About farronfilms

Hello there, and thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings on film. I love everything about filmmaking and try to look at (and review) films on a more aesthetic level, and really "judge" it for what it is (not necessarily if I personally like it). If you’d like to send me a suggestion to add to my viewing list, please don’t hesitate to email me at farron34@yahoo.com and I’d be more than happy to talk film with you; I’d especially love to hear from any independent filmmakers, as I’d be honored to review your films! Lastly, follow me on twitter and IG @farronsaifee
This entry was posted in Documentary, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment