Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels

Film #242

Title: Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels (1998)

Starring: Jason Flemyng, Dexter Fletcher, Nick Moran, Jason Statham and Steven Mackintosh

Dir: Guy Richie

Basic Synopsis (from IMDb): A botched card game in London triggers four friends, thugs, weed-growers, hard gangsters, loan sharks and debt collectors to collide with each other in a series of unexpected events, all for the sake of weed, cash and two antique shotguns.

My Mini Review:

A fast paced, ultra stylized, dark comedy/crime thriller. It reminded me a bit of a Tarantino film, but in the best way possible (as I’m a big Tarantino fan). The characters are well constructed, and the dialogue is smart and well written.

Cinematically, the camera work is self-aware, but it works with the hyper stylized narrative. The acting is great, and I thought the direction was strong. Being so fast paced, I thought the editing was done well. I also loved the music used and thought it fit very well. British (dark) comedy at its finest (if you don’t mind the violence and strong language).

Overall Rating: 4/5

About farronfilms

Hello there, and thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings on film. I love everything about filmmaking and try to look at (and review) films on a more aesthetic level, and really "judge" it for what it is (not necessarily if I personally like it). If you’d like to send me a suggestion to add to my viewing list, please don’t hesitate to email me at farron34@yahoo.com and I’d be more than happy to talk film with you; I’d especially love to hear from any independent filmmakers, as I’d be honored to review your films! Lastly, follow me on twitter and IG @farronsaifee
This entry was posted in Comedy, Drama, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment