Into the Wild

Film #153

Title: Into the Wild (2007)

Starring: Emile Hirsch, Marcia Gay Harden, Catherine Keener and Vince Vaughn

Dir: Sean Penn

Basic Synopsis (from IMDb): After graduating from Emory University, top student and athlete Christopher McCandless abandons his possessions, gives his entire $24,000 savings to charity and hitchhikes to Alaska to live in the wilderness. Along the way, Christopher encounters a series of characters that shape his life.

My Mini Review:

Based on a true story, this film makes you feel so many things. Initially, what he does seems almost noble, then soon takes a turn and it becomes naive and sad. A great effort made by Penn to show this delicate balance so well and even waited 10 years to make to the film – waiting until he had the approval from the McCandless family.

Cinematically, I thought the camera work was excellent and the direction solid. It is said that they constructed an exact replica of the bus to use in the film, as a way to pay their respects to Chris (to not shoot in the actual bus he used). Hirsch turns in a solid performance, and many strong supporting players as well. A sad story, but one worth telling.

Overall Rating: 5/5

About farronfilms

Hello there, and thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings on film. I love everything about filmmaking and try to look at (and review) films on a more aesthetic level, and really "judge" it for what it is (not necessarily if I personally like it). If you’d like to send me a suggestion to add to my viewing list, please don’t hesitate to email me at farron34@yahoo.com and I’d be more than happy to talk film with you; I’d especially love to hear from any independent filmmakers, as I’d be honored to review your films! Lastly, follow me on twitter and IG @farronsaifee
This entry was posted in Adventure, Biography, Coming of Age, Drama, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment