The Panic in Needle Park

Film #285

Title: The Panic in Needle Park (1971)

Starring: Al Pacino and Kitty Winn

Dir: Jerry Schatzberg

Basic Synopsis (from IMDb): A stark portrayal of life among a group of heroin addicts who hang out in “Needle Park” in New York City. Played against this setting is a low-key love story between Bobby, a young addict and small-time hustler, and Helen, a homeless girl who finds in her relationship with Bobby the stability she craves.

My Mini Review:

A very realistic portrayal of addicts, showcasing the damage and drama that a lifestyle of that caliber produces. Though some scenes are hard to watch at times due to their graphic nature, the story is quite compelling and well told. It explores the depths of the characters in a way that is both in-your-face and subtle (simultaneously).

Cinematically, this film is very raw – handheld camera work and very naturalistic lighting. This was only the 2nd film that Pacino acted in (released one year prior to The Godfather), and also the 2nd film that Schatzberg directed.  That being said, the acting, particularly by Pacino and Winn is excellent, and I thought the direction was solid. To add to the reality of the film, there is no music used at all in the entire film – so the quiet moments have a chance to be truly reflective without the influence of musical cues.

Overall Rating: 4/5

About farronfilms

Hello there, and thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings on film. I love everything about filmmaking and try to look at (and review) films on a more aesthetic level, and really "judge" it for what it is (not necessarily if I personally like it). If you’d like to send me a suggestion to add to my viewing list, please don’t hesitate to email me at farron34@yahoo.com and I’d be more than happy to talk film with you; I’d especially love to hear from any independent filmmakers, as I’d be honored to review your films! Lastly, follow me on twitter and IG @farronsaifee
This entry was posted in Drama, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment