Scenic Route

Film #337

Title: Scenic Route (2013)

Starring: Josh Duhamel and Dan Fogler

Dir: Kevin Goetz and Michael Goetz

Basic Synopsis (from IMDb): Tensions rise between lifelong friends Mitchell and Carter after their truck breaks down on an isolated desert road as they start to attack each other’s life decisions with unwavering brutality.

My Mini Review: 

I was pleasantly surprised by this one. It is an interesting mix of thriller and character study. I found it to be engaging despite the fact that the characters are not particularly interesting. The setting and circumstances provided enough oomph for the story to progress effectively. 

Cinematically, the camera work was ok, each shot enriched with lovely desert landscapes. This is the feature directorial debut of the Goetz brothers, and only the second feature for writer Kyle Killen (also the man behind the short lived TV series Awake). Despite the lack of major experience, this film was very well done. The acting was good, with an excellent performance by Duhamel (in a role very much unlike his previous work). Overall, a simple film that held my attention to the end. 

Overall Rating: 4/5

About farronfilms

Hello there, and thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings on film. I love everything about filmmaking and try to look at (and review) films on a more aesthetic level, and really "judge" it for what it is (not necessarily if I personally like it). If you’d like to send me a suggestion to add to my viewing list, please don’t hesitate to email me at farron34@yahoo.com and I’d be more than happy to talk film with you; I’d especially love to hear from any independent filmmakers, as I’d be honored to review your films! Lastly, follow me on twitter and IG @farronsaifee
This entry was posted in Drama, Indie, Reviews, Road, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment