The Kings of Summer

Film #324

Title: The Kings of Summer (2013)

Starring: Nick Robinson, Gabriel Basso, Moises Arias, Erin Moriarty and Nick Offerman

Dir: Jordan Vogt-Roberts

Basic Synopsis (from IMDb): Three teenage friends, in the ultimate act of independence, decide to spend their summer building a house in the woods and living off the land.

My Mini Review:

This film was cute, but I felt like it tried too hard at times – some of the comedic moments seemed forced and awkward. The first film for writer Chris Galletta, the story stuck pretty close to the trappings of the coming-of-age sub-genre, but avoided being overly sentimental. The characters were established and developed well enough to make the story work. 

Cinematically, I thought the camera work was ok. I liked the way it was edited, adding small quick cuts and short montages. I thought the direction could have been a bit stronger, which in turn, would have made some of the performances stronger. But overall, the acting wasn’t too bad, considering the script (which had its weak points), and a great performance by Robinson (I’ve seen him in several other films, and I’d say he’s going to have a great career ahead of him).  All in all, a cute film with a few interesting characters and an awesome house in the woods. 

Overall Rating: 3/5

About farronfilms

Hello there, and thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings on film. I love everything about filmmaking and try to look at (and review) films on a more aesthetic level, and really "judge" it for what it is (not necessarily if I personally like it). If you’d like to send me a suggestion to add to my viewing list, please don’t hesitate to email me at farron34@yahoo.com and I’d be more than happy to talk film with you; I’d especially love to hear from any independent filmmakers, as I’d be honored to review your films! Lastly, follow me on twitter and IG @farronartphoto
This entry was posted in Adventure, Comedy, Coming of Age, Drama, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

